Fast, Easy, Healthy Breakfast Ideas

Breakfast is probably one of my favorite meals of the day. I could easily eat some sort of breakfast food for every meal – and a lot of days I do.

One of my favorite breakfasts that is great at home or can easily be packed up for work are Greek yogurt bowls. I love these because you can change them up in so many different ways + tailor them to whatever you have on hand or are feeling that day.

breakfast1

My go-to combination is shown above. I typically use the Dannon Light and Fit Greek Yogurt in Vanilla or the Plain Oiko’s Greek Yogurt. I chose these two brands mostly because they are two of the highest in protein/lowest in sugar.

I add fruits such as strawberries, blueberries, blackberries or bananas. When I visit home, I am spoiled because my mom keeps the fresh berries stocked – but when I am on my own I normally buy frozen ones which are just as good.

My favorite part is the crunch – I add sliced almonds or walnuts to up the protein.

Some other of my quick go to’s are:

  • Eggs (Scrambled, hard boiled or an omelette – I normally use one whole egg with egg whites) with veggies and fruit
  • RX Bar (My new favorite – a bar with only a few ingredients & packed with protein) + Banana
    • Bars are a good quick alternative to making a breakfast, but I try to keep an eye on the ingredient list and sugar content – you would be surprised just how many ingredients and sugar they can pack into a tiny little bar.
  • Oatmeal with frozen berries (I like mixing in a little Vega Protein Powder or PB 2 to increase the protein)

And for a little fun – Brunch is a whole different ball game. I eat very healthy through out the week but always love to splurge every now and then. Brunch and hotel breakfasts are my jam.

breakfast2

When eating out, I try to incorporate some kind of protein. I love eggs but never make omelettes for myself at home, so that is normally what I get. I keep it simple with just adding in things like tomatoes, spinach and peppers – with no cheese.

After getting in my protein, I add in the fun by splurging on my sides. Roasted potatoes and biscuits are my weakness – especially those at West Egg Cafe in Atlanta, GA.

– Sarah Beth Bosco

Leave a Reply

