2 0 1 7 !

img_1770

I cannot believe it is already 2017! I feel like it was just yesterday that Joel and I were watching football, cuddled up on the couch with our pup bringing in 2016. I may just feel that way because it is exactly how we brought in 2017 the other night as well… creatures of habit, no?

2016 has been without a doubt one of the best years I have had to date. Here is why –

  • Joel moved to Atlanta! – After 4 years of long distance (8+ hours between the two of us), Joel and I finally are living in the same city. This hasn’t happened since my Junior year of high school and I am so excited about it. Joel graduated college back in May and packed up his few belongings (a trash bag of clothes) and moved in a few days after his final exams. It has been a learning experience for the both of us and we are still learning everyday – living with a boy, let alone another person is always a challenge. But through the troubles, have come LOTS of fun times and memories with my boy.
  • My job & the best of friends. You are probably thinking this is an odd combination and for most people, it is. – but I truly have met some of my best friends through my current job. I have been working for my company since August 2015, but transitioned into my current role back in March 2016. Through this, I have met some of my best friends. From birthday’s, brunches, concerts, happy hours, engagement parties, weddings – we have done it all this year. As for my job and beginning my career, I have learned so much about myself and am continuing to grow professionally and personally. I am so excited for what is to come in the next year!
  • My health and running. I am so fortunate to be able the ones to wake up in the morning and say that I “get” to run. I started out 2016 by impulsively signing up for a half marathon with my dad in February…for a half marathon that was in March. Now, don’t get me wrong, up until that point I had been running. I have always wanted to run a half marathon but didn’t have the confidence in myself to think I could do it – so what better way to do it than to just sign up on a whim? Right? …Besides the fact that I had never ever ran more than 6-7 miles in my life. 🙂 I talk about this a little more here. After this half marathon, I ended up hurting my IT band and was out of running for a good 3-4 months, I think. This is hard for someone that likes to be as active as I do. I recovered finally, and have since then stuck to shorter races and increasing my speed – which led me to my 5K PR in October! My whole point of this little rant is that I am SO fortunate that I get to get up everyday and do something that I enjoy and am healthy enough to do.
  • Family. I have always been close to my parents and my sister, but I think as I have gotten older the closer we have become. Especially being 5 hours apart and the fact that I don’t get to see them as often as I would like, I really try to call and text them more than I would have in the past. They have been the best support system through everything and am so fortunate for them! BUT breaking news – my sister is moving to ATL in a week!

There are many more other things that I was thankful for this year, but I will leave it at that. 🙂

Wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

– Sarah Beth Bosco

Leave a Reply

